Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry announces legislative endorsements

Bipartisan assortment of incumbents and challengers all committed to fostering better environment for business 


PHOENIX (June 27, 2016) – The Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry has made its 2016 primary election endorsements for the state Legislature. The Chamber is excited to endorse 18 Senate and 35 House candidates who share the Chamber’s pro-business, jobs-friendly agenda.

The Chamber maintains a rigorous process for supporting individuals for the Legislature. Incumbent legislative candidates were evaluated based on their voting record as it relates to the Chamber policy agenda and their commitment to growing and attracting business in Arizona. Challenger candidates were asked to complete a questionnaire about their policy positions before participating in a candidate interview with members of the Chamber Public Affairs Committee. The Public Affairs Committee made recommendations for candidate endorsements to the Board of Directors, which ultimately voted on the final endorsements.

“We believe we have endorsed a slate of outstanding candidates who are all committed to advancing public policy that makes Arizona more economically competitive,” Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry President and CEO Glenn Hamer said. “We look forward to working with each of these individuals at the Capitol to make Arizona the absolute best place in the country to grow a business thanks to attractive tax, labor, regulatory and education environments.”

The endorsed candidates are as follows:

District 1

Karen Fann (R), Senate

Noel Campbell (R), House

Chip Davis (R), House

District 2

Chris Ackerly (R), House

Daniel Hernandez (D), House

District 5

Sonny Borrelli (R), Senate

Regina Cobb (R), House

District 6

Sylvia Allen (R), Senate

Brenda Barton (R), House

Bob Thorpe (R), House

District 8

Frank Pratt (R), Senate

T.J. Shope (R), House

David Cook (R), House

District 11

Vince Leach (R), House

District 12

Warren Petersen (R), Senate

Eddie Farnsworth (R), House

District 13

Steve Montenegro (R), Senate

Darin Mitchell (R), House

Don Shooter (R), House

District 14

Gail Griffin (R), Senate

Drew John (R), House

District 15

John Allen (R), House

Heather Carter (R), House

District 16

Doug Coleman (R), House

District 17

Steve Yarbrough (R), Senate

J.D. Mesnard (R), House

Jeff Weninger (R), House

District 18

Jeff Dial (R), Senate

Jill Norgaard (R), House

Bob Robson (R), House

District 19

Lupe Chavira Contreras (D), Senate

Mark Cardenas (D), House

Jose Espinoza (D), House

District 20

Kimberly Yee (R), Senate

Paul Boyer (R), House

District 21

Debbie Lesko (R), Senate

Tony Rivero (R), House

Kevin Payne (R), House

District 22

Judy Burges (R), Senate

David Livingston (R), House

Phil Lovas (R), House

District 23

John Kavanagh (R), Senate

Jay Lawrence (R), House

Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R), House

District 25

Bob Worsley (R), Senate

Rusty Bowers (R), House

District 27

Catherine Miranda (D), Senate

Reginald Bolding (D), House

District 28

Kate Brophy McGee (R), Senate

Mary Hamway (R), House

Maria Syms (R), House

District 30

Robert Meza (D), Senate

Jonathan Larkin (D), House



# # #



The Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry is committed to advancing Arizona’s competitive position in the global economy by advocating free-market policies that stimulate economic growth and prosperity for all Arizonans.